Everyone who knows me knows two things: a) I love to eat and b) I hate to exercise.

Which is why what happened tonight was so incredible in my little world!

I didn’t exercise Wed night (a mix of lazyness and depression over our hospital where I work possibly closing soon…ugh), so tonight I knew I needed to walk. After work, I sat on the couch for about ten minutes playing online and knew I had to get it over with before the good Thu night TV shows started.

I started up walking at 3.5 for a minute then bumped it up to 3.7-3.8ish…a little bit into it I jogged for a bit at 4.5 (nothing major or long, just my usual spurts). I was still not in the mood. I thought about quitting at the 1.5 mile mark and saying “at least I exercised some” but I didn’t…in fact, somewhere in here  I bumped the treadmill up to 5.0, then down, then 5.5, then down, then 6.0 (!!!) then back down….at the 2 mile mark I was feeling somewhat better and knew I COULD do 3 miles, so I stayed with it, venturing back to the 6.0 area a few times (and back again of course!)  I ended my 3 miles at 45:47 seconds! A new record for me! I was SO happy and I don’t think I could have done it without my Ipod tonight. I wish I could bottle that happy feeling you get AFTER the workout and spray some in the air when you’re stepping on the treadmill!  On a sidenote, some good old school Michael Jackson music helped me move it faster tonight…I couldn’t believe it when I stayed at 6.0 for at least 30 seconds. I have never ran that fast. This is huuuuge for me!

I’m a little sore and I think I have a blister on my right foot…but I’m very happy about tonight’s workout!

