Hello all,

Hope this post finds yall doing well. How was everyone’s weekend? It was a nice, quiet one here…with a roadblock or two, as usual!

After work Friday I exercised, getting in 3 miles. I had a normal supper and all was well. Saturday, I woke up with a bad pain in my right hip. It would catch when I moved a certain way…was not feeling well! I still managed to get in two miles on the treadmill later in the day, but it took effort! I started to rest up, but I reallllly want to complete Steve’s marathon challenge that ends on Wednesday so I kept going. 

Another reason was because Saturday night was our annual Friends Christmas Party, which meant good food galore. I made a chicken casserole and like four kinds of sweets (brown sugar chewies, home made cookies, muffins, and peanut butter cookies). Needless to say, I was nibbling as I baked, so I counted that as my lunch and had a fiber bar for breakfast. That night at the party, I avoided all alcohol (instead I had water), and made a portion controlled plate consisting of turkey, a little dressing, half a roll, a little corn, and mostly my casserole, which I had made as light as possible using lowfat soup and sour cream. For dessert, I had about two bites of a delicious cake someone had made and two cookies. I had fun, but didn’t over indulge. Everyone else had these HUGE plates of desserts, and I couldn’t help but feel a little jealous…but I got over it. The alcohol was what I really missed, but I have taken a break from it for a few weeks.

However, Sunday had it’s rough spots as well. Unfortunately some of those yummy sweets were around the house still and I had some for breakfast, and a few for an after lunch snack. That’s the bad news. The good news is I estimated them (highly, I hope…) into my daily calories and ate light for lunch and dinner. My hip pain was still there, maybe a little better, so I got on the treadmill and against better judgement did 3 more miles towards the marathon goal.

Today is Monday (ugh) and I’m happy to say all the “bad sweets” are gone, so it’s back to normal around here. My hip is not hurting as bad today, so I’m very happy about that. I’ve done 16 miles in the challenge since Wednesday, so that means I have 10.2 more to go before this Wednesday at midnight. I think I might actually be able to do this!  I’m also hoping for a good loss this week, after last week’s gain and all the hard work and extra miles walked this week. We’ll see!

Oh….we got the Christmas tree up this weekend, so I’m definitely feeling some Christmas spirit, finally! The tree and all the packages from Amazon arriving always do the trick! Only about 18 days left, right?

