It’s my first blog entry of THE DECADE! I figured I’d do a post about my New Year’s Resolutions.  I used to blog on MySpace, but with Facebook kinda taking over nobody goes on there much anymore it seems.

I’m not gonna bore everyone with my whole list, because there are quite a few things on there I want to get done in the New Year. Instead of saying, “I want to eat healthier” or “I want to lose weight” I’ve made sort of a “To Do” List for my resolutions this year…with due dates as needed.

Of course, it wouldn’t be New Year’s without weight being #1. That’s what this blog started for, after all! The first thing I wanna do is get back on track this Monday, January 4th, with exercise and eating right…including tweetwhatyoueat and Daily Mile tracking. I’ve already started to slowly crawl back on the wagon so this won’t be a big deal. As far as weight goes, my first goal is to be 190 pounds by April 15th. I have a doctor’s appointment that day so I figured it was a great day to strive for. I think this is a very possible goal if I continue like I’ve been doing. My second goal is to be 180 by August 15th. I realize this is only 10 pounds and a very long time to lose it, but the thing is…I’m not sure how low my weight can go. When I had my surgery back in 2001, I was left with some loose skin. Not a ton or anything, but it’s there. Now, can that be toned up with heavy exercise? We shall see. I can’t wait. HONESTLY, I’ve never been as committed to a lifestyle change as I have been recently so it’ll be interesting to see what happens. The lowest weight I’ve been is around 185 back in the summer of 2008. I felt so great and my self esteem was much higher, but I still had some to lose and I’m not sure how much of that can be toned up.I was in size 36 shorts, it was awesome. Speaking of size 36 shorts, my last weight goal is to be in those old clothes from the good ole days by this summer. I guess I should set a date, but I dunno what to put. I’ve lost around 30 pounds since I started this, but I’m not seeing a huge change in my clothes yet. Change yes, but huge change, no. I can’t wait to see how things change in 2010!!!

As far as exercise, I have lots of goals here. My year-long goal is to walk/jog 500 miles. I think I can do this so I might change this one mid-year if I’m making a good pace. Another is to jog a mile in public. This will take a while because, first, I need to be able to jog a mile, period (lol), but doing so in public gives me a super anxiety attack just thinking about it. Finally, I want to complete the “Couch to 5K” program. I had every intention of starting this with Josie and Erin a month or so ago, but my little injury prevented me and then I’m sure I found another excuse to not start it and then it was the holidays and don’t even get me started on that! 

Other resolutions, shortened to prevent readers from falling asleep:
-Complete 50 Scrapbook layouts (don’t laugh, it’s one of my favorite hobbies!)
-Continue my awesome reading style (I read 40 books in 2009. Would love to do the same this year. I have 6 books on my “To Read” list as mini goals along the way.
-Take road trips to New Orleans and Atlanta (my fav vacation places!)
-Organize the absolute wreckage that is my microwave cart area into a recipes binder. It’s currently a basket with sheets of paper, making it maddening to find a recipe. It drives me nuts.
-Catch up/finish these TV shows on DVD: Arrested Development, 30 Rock, and Popular
-Pay off “The Annoying Bill” early
-Meet Lady Gaga (just kidding…I wish!!)
-Writing (Another of my favorite hobbies. My biggest resolution for 2009 was to finish my big writing project I have been working on for about two years. Guess what? I didn’t work on it at ALL the whole year! So this is my big one…finish it, seriously, this year! I also have another short story I want to complete this year that I’m VERY excited about. The one I actually finished in 2009 I was so proud of! I’ve given myself “due dates” to make me actually work on the writing!)
-Beat Super Mario Brothers Wii (with coins; I’ve already beaten it, but I’m having to go back and do it all over again because I didn’t collect all the damn coins to unlock the hidden level!)

I also have some cleaning/organizing tasks on my “To Do” List and I also resolve to continue to spoil my dog Sookie as much as possible and make her life as happy as possible! I’m also going to cut back on drinking. I’ve already done this because of the “lifestyle change” but I want to do a little better than I already am.

2010 is shaping up to be a busy, productive, and FUN year! I’m so excited!  Happy New Year, all!

